Contact Information

Core Curriculum Contact
Director of General Education  Christie Wilson (Professor of History)
General Education Oversight Committee 2022-2023

Claire Edwards (NSCI rep), Assistant Professor Biological Sciences

Haydory Ahmed (MSB rep), Assistant Professor Economics

Warren Andresen (BSS rep), Associate Professor Criminal Justice

Jamie Hinojosa (AHMX rep), Assistant Professor Writing & Rhetoric


Core Curriculum Requirement Contact

Freshman Seminar

Alex Barron, Director of Freshman Seminar, Assoc Professor of Literature

Writing & Rhetoric I & II

Jamie Hinojosa, Coordinator, Asst Professor Writing & Rhetoric

Oral Communication

Stephanie Martinez, Coordinator, Assoc Professor Communication

Modern Languages

Philippe Seminet, Chair and Assoc Professor of Languages, Literatures and Cultures Department


Mark Cherry, Chair and Professor of Philosophy Department

Religious and Theological Studies

Kelley Coblentz Bautch, Chair and Professor of Religious and Theological Studies Department

Quantitative Reasoning

Edward Early, Associate Dean of Natural Sciences and Professor

Natural Sciences

Chair: Coordinator Casey Sherman, Asst Professor Math

Amy Concilio, Assoc Prof Environmental Science

Elijah Wostl, Asst Prof Bio Sciences

Creativity and Making

Interim Chair: Jeremy Johnson, Asst Professor Video Game Development

Additional committee members:

  • Kathryn Eader, Theater Arts
  • Alexandra Robinson, Assoc Professor Art

Diverse American Perspectives

Chair: Coordinator Adam McCormick, Assoc Professor of Social Work

Additional committee members:

  • Rachael Neal, Assoc Professor Sociology
  • Kris Sloan, Professor of Education

Exploring Artistic Works

Chair: Coordinator Brian Sheerin, Assoc Professor of English

Additional committee members:

  • Mary Brantl, Art

Global Perspectives

Chair: Coordinator Angela Ju, Asst Professor Global Studies and Political Science

Additional committee members:

  • Selin Guner, Global Studies
  • Amr Swid, Management

Experiential Learning for Social Justice Mission Marker

Chair: Kim Garza, Visual Studies

Additional committee members:

  • Liza Manjarrez, Campus Ministry
  • Kris Sloan, Teaching, Learning, and Culture (Division of Professional and Graduate Studies)
  • Jeremy Johnson, Visual Studies

Social Identities Mission Marker

Chair: Emily Bernate, Spanish

Additional committee members:

  • Tere Garza, Communication
  • Adam McCormick, Social Work

Writing Rich Mission Markers

Chair: Jamie Hinojosa, Asst Professor Writing & Rhetoric

Additional committee members:

  • Mike Disch, Psychology
  • Lorelei Ortiz, Business

Culminating Experience Committee

AHUM: Cory Lock, Professor of Literature
BSS: Carsten Andresen, Associate Professor Criminal Justice
MSB: Amir Amini Sedeh, Strategic Management
NSCI: Kristy Ballard, Forensic Science